Skål International holds its first virtual Annual General Assembly with great success

Skål International, the world's largest Travel and Tourism Organisation, held its 81st Annual General Assembly on 17th October 2020 for the first time in its history, virtually. 

During the session, Skål International delegates from all around the world voted on their new Executive Committee for the year 2021. The International Skål Council held its annual elections and plenary meeting on 15 October also virtually and President Peter Morrison announced the appointment of a new Trustee of the Florimond Volckaert Fund.  

Skål International Executive Board 2021

Vice President Bill Rheaume (Canadian Rockies, Canada) becomes the President Elect, while Directors Burcin Turkkan (Atlanta, U.S.A.) was elected to the position of Senior Vice President and Fiona Nicholl (Cairns, Australia) as elected to the position of Junior of Vice President.

Juan Ignacio Steta (Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico) and Marja Eela-Kaskinen (Turku, Finland) are the new Directors elected and Rafael Millan Perez (Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico) is the new Auditor.

Zlatan Fröhlich (Zagreb, Croatia) and William Moyer (Washington DC, USA) were bestowed the Membre d'Honneur distinction.

Odoo • Text and Image

International Skål Council 2021

The International Skål Council welcomes their new Skål Council Board: Denise Scrafton (Australia), becomes the President and Julie Dabaly-Scott (Kenya) and Jean-François Coté (Canada), Vice Presidents. 

Florimond Volckaert Fund

Past-President Hulya Aslantas (Istanbul, Turkey) has been appointed as the new Trustee and joins Past-President Tony Clegg-Butt (Nairobi, Kenya), who becomes the Coordinating Trustee, and Mok Singh (Los Angeles, U.S.A.) in this endeavour.

Skål International Awards

Skål International also presented during the session, The 2020 Sustainable Tourism Awards, aimed at improving the visibility and giving recognition to entities in the tourism industry with their good sustainable practices, as well as the President Awards and the winner of the annual Skål Club of the Year: